Font Size

The Region

5175155_origThe Genesee-Finger Lakes Region consists of nine counties in Upstate New York: Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates. These counties contain 188 municipalities (cities, towns, and villages), and a portion of the Tonawanda Reservation. The region covers 4,676 square miles of land and is home to 1,217,135 people (2010 census), including the City of Rochester, the state’s third largest city. It stretches from the level lake plain along Lake Ontario’s south shore rising to the hill and valley terrain of the Allegheny Plateau. The region is bisected by the north-flowing Genesee River and the Erie Canal and includes five of the 11 Finger Lakes in their entirety and portions of three more.

Our ​Mission

The Genesee/Finger Lakes Regional Planning Council (G/FLRPC) will identify, define, and inform its member counties of issues and opportunities critical to the physical, economic, and social health of the region. G/FLRPC provides forums for discussion, debate, and consensus building, and develops and implements a focused action plan with clearly defined outcomes, which include programs, personnel, and funding.