Font Size

Climate Smart Communities

About the Climate Smart Communities Program

The Climate Smart Communities (CSC) program began in 2009 as an interagency initiative of New York State. The program is jointly sponsored by the following New York State agencies: Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC); Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA); Department of Public Service; Department of State; Department of Transportation; Department of Health and the Power Authority (NYPA). DEC acts as the main administrator of the program.

Over time CSC has grown into a multifaceted initiative. To download a two-page introduction to the program, click here.

For guidance on participating in the program, please see the Getting Started page.

This website was launched in 2018 as a new way for local governments in New York State to apply for CSC certification. This website, known as the portal, provides an online platform for local governments to upload documentation, communicate with those who review documentation, and track their progress toward certification. By providing detailed information about the program and enabling regular updates, this portal replaces the CSC Certification Manual, which was issued in 2014.

Learn More

Any questions, please reach out to our CSC Coordinator Rachel Scudder at